German Foods

Germany is famous for many foods and cuisines. Many dishes have become anglicized and are familiar to the average American, but most still are completely unknown. I would like to present a few of these dishes to you, but in the effort of fairness I will only show you the ones I’ve experienced myself – most of which are bizarrely delicious. Keep in mind I’m no professional food critic. My knowledge of German is greater than my knowledge of food. Side note: you’ll notice many names of the foods are accompanied by  a location. In Germany, as well as in other parts of Europe, specialty foods are strongly connected to locations and possess great pride in their creations. Also, nouns are capitalized in German.

Let’s start off with a breakfast item. For breakfast it’s common and traditional to eat large helpings of meats and cheeses, but in the more modern, rushed world Müsli has become a favorite. It’s a cereal made from oats, fruits, and nuts. It’s similar to trail mix in milk and is very chewy. Alternately, you can trade the milk out for yogurt. It’s filled with complex carbohydrates and provides a long lasting source of energy with a not-bad taste.

Schnitzel is a cutlet of meat fried in batter. To get a mental image, chicken fried steak is the bastardized version of schnitzel brought to Texas by German immigrants.  However, instead of low quality beef steak, Wiener Schnitzel (Schnitzel from Vienna) is made from delicious veal.

Kirsch Schokolade = two things Germans love: chocolate and alcohol. Also known as Weinbrand Bohnen (brandy beans), it is a bite-sized piece of milk or dark chocolate filled with a couple of milliliters of brandy or Schnapps. That’s right, a shot of hard liquor with your candy. You can get trashed from a decent sized box of them and still get the sugar/caffeine high from the chocolate. It’s like an old German version of Four Loko.

Düsseldorfer Löwensenf. The name translates to lion’s mustard from Dusseldorf. Supposedly, the name refers to the intensity of the mustard’s bite. Though not necessarily a food as much as a condiment, I feel that it’s worth including merely because it’s one of the only spicy items you’ll find in Germany. However, it’s very, very spicy. I ate a bratwurst pita sandwich with this mustard on it at Wurstfest a few years back. I was probably a bit more liberal with it than I should’ve been and it ruined my world for about thirty minutes.

Though I’ve only included a few samples here, you should have a decent idea of some of the stuff Germans like to eat. It’s all very good and I’m always trying more when I get the opportunity. If you are interested in trying some of this stuff out, there’s huge selections every year at Wurstfest in New Braunfels. It’s my Mecca. You can come with and I’ll show you the ropes.

  1. #1 by jg1853 on April 4, 2011 - 12:27 am

    Interesting, I always wanted to visit Germany and try all their food. It’s crazy how different their diet is, the good thing is that most of it is made at home

  2. #2 by shotinty on April 8, 2011 - 4:12 pm

    There is an authentic .. or as authentic as you can get in South Texas… german restaurant in New Braunfels… It is called Krause’s. Have you ever tried it… And of course the ultimate German “Texas” celebration of Wurstfest…..

  3. #3 by chance on April 10, 2011 - 12:37 pm

    Ok first off I lived in Germany for about 10 years and moved here almost 2 years ago, and reading your blog just made me realize how much I miss the food right now. I would so love a schnitzel, and a bratwurst right now, just thinking about it makes me hungry. I’m so glad I read this because I had no idea about the wurst-fest and I will definitely be going next year, it is going to be epic. I heard Fredericksburg has German restaurants and all that, do you know if its anything like the real thing?

    • #4 by deutschermann on April 10, 2011 - 10:01 pm

      I’ve only had the Spätzle in Fredericksburg, and I can’t even remember the name of the restaurant. It was very good, though.

  4. #5 by Nina on April 10, 2011 - 3:23 pm

    I’ve been to Germany a couple times and Austria and the food there was really good. I like the meat and cheeses for breakfast, my family flew Lufthansa all the time and German food always reminds me of that airline.

  5. #6 by mayradiaz91 on April 10, 2011 - 4:03 pm

    I have always wanted to go to Germany! I have a few German friends who say it is amazing and so is the food!

  6. #7 by MollyNeedham on April 10, 2011 - 5:11 pm

    These foods are really interesting! But the lions mustard does scare me a little bit.. I wonder what the story behind German chocolate cake is, and if it is even German?

    • #8 by deutschermann on April 10, 2011 - 9:52 pm

      I know this! German chocolate cake was originally called “German’s chocolate cake.” German actually refers to the baker’s name that invented the recipe for the cake. Over time the ‘S’ was dropped and the baker’s recognition has become diluted, aber so ist das Leben. Good question!

  7. #9 by lauren on April 10, 2011 - 10:29 pm

    All of these dishes sound really amazing, I’ve never had these types of food, but now I definitely plan on trying them.

  8. #10 by kp1336 on April 10, 2011 - 11:44 pm

    cant wait to go to wurstfest and try these resturants!

Leave a Reply

